"An arbitrary succession of more or less irritating sounds"

Sunday, 16 June 2013

Three leaves

In the absence of new Richard Skelton, a batch of unpublished, alternate & reinterpreted music is a welcome way of holding the fort. A second slice of the sweetly thrumming, yearning Riftmusic (originally on the Sustain-Release private press, later also an Aeolian Edition download) is a fine start to this new 'Archival' subscription series - illuminating one of the early catalogue's lower profile pieces with a darker, denser, seemingly dronier riposte. 

Blurb: "ARCHIVAL is a series of digital music editions of Richard Skelton's work - primarily comprising previously unpublished recordings, but also alternate versions and new reinterpretations of the music he published via Sustain-Release between 2005 and 2011."

A second new series is Skelton's 'Artists Editions' ("extremely limited pressings of work using the finest available materials, and accompanied by one-of-a-kind prints, media or objects") - recently inaugurated with the 'text work' Become a Ford: "A continuation of Limnology - 38 'ings' found in dictionary definitions of water-words, arranged in a grid and used as the source of a new text work."

Riftmusic (Part Two) by Riftmusic

Riftmusic (excerpt) ~ Riftmusic

Important: LMYE only makes music available that artists/labels have chosen to share freely. Let us know if something here shouldn't be.

No comments:

Go to Beatport.comGet These TracksAdd This Player